Magazin

How to style: The right outfit for the holidays!

Who doesn't know it? The holidays are barely around the corner and you already receive the first dinner invitation from the family and the mental carousel begins to spin: What to wear?
So that you don't have to rack your brains over the right outfit choice, we would like to present festive looks to you today.

Fun fact: Where does the name smoking come from?

The history of the dinner jacket goes back to the 19th century. The word "smoking" already reveals something about the original purpose of this elegant garment. The smoking was put on for a visit to the smoking salon. After the visit, the smoking was taken off again so as not to bother the women, who were not allowed to visit the salon, with the smell of smoke. In the middle of the 19th century, Prince Edward of Wales introduced the smoking to high society, so that it is still the most elegant item of clothing in men's wardrobes today.

Single-breasted, double-breasted or tuxedo jacket - a little guide

In addition to the classic, festive alternatives - the single-breasted and the double-breasted jacket - the tuxedo jacket should also be considered in your outfit choice.

light blue jacket with beige window checks

The single breasted jacket:
This type of jacket is characterised by only one row of buttons. You will often find two buttons here. The bottom button should always remain open; only just before taking a seat is it advisable to open both buttons. If you want to be on the safe side, you should choose a two-button jacket. It looks neither too formal nor too modern.

Double breasted brown jacket with beige stripes

The double-breasted jacket:
On this model you will find two rows of buttons. Here the jacket is always closed, even when sitting. Only the bottom button can optionally remain open. This type of jacket manages to make anyone look serious and elegant and is the right choice if you want to make a fashion statement. The lapel that runs across the upper body emphasises the silhouette advantageously.

Black tuxedo jacket

The Tuxedo jacket:
Das Smoking-Jackett besteht häufig aus Samt oder Wolle. It is also characterised by two side slits.
The lapel is clearly different, the so-called "mirror" is traditionally made of satin in the tuxedo jacket. Satin is also found on the buttons of the jacket.
If the tuxedo jacket is single-breasted, only the top button of the two buttons is fastened. Always suitably combined with the matching dinner jacket trousers.

Festive, more festive, most festive - the combination makes the difference

In the meantime, it is no longer uncommon to combine the jacket with jeans or chino trousers. This is in stark contrast to the dinner jacket, which is still classically combined. When choosing an outfit, it is crucial what impression you want to make and what occasion you want to do justice to.

young man with red hair in light-coloured turtleneck jumper, light-coloured trousers and light-blue, beige checked jacket

The modern look:
Modern in light natural shades. Our light blue jacket CG Timbo SV with light beige window check adds an unobtrusive highlight. The jacket can be perfectly combined with a light-coloured turtleneck jumper and a matching suit trousers. With selected accessories such as a pocket square, they lend the look your individual signature. The Christmas family party can come!

Young man with brown hair in beige jacket, wine-red turtleneck jumper and dark trousers

The casual look
Casual with lots of contrast. If you prefer the casual look, you should go for our beige jacket CG Fabian J-SV . Combine it with dark trousers for a great contrast.
If you also want to add a colourful accent, you can break up the look with a burgundy turtleneck jumper. The perfect outfit when it should be neither too festive nor too casual.

man with brown hair in black tuxedo, white tuxedo shirt, with black bow tie and white pocketkerchief

The most festive look:
The most festive look of all – the tuxedo. Classically combined with the matching tuxedo trouseres, a white tuxedo shirt, a light-coloured pocket square and a black bow tie. Round off the outfit with black patent leather shoes. Instead of a belt, go for braces here.
The tuxedo is perfect for a stylish New Year's Eve.

The easy way to a festive outfit

Have you already thought about what you will wear on the holidays? We're glad if we could help you make that decision today. Feel free to take a look at our online shop, enjoy!

Best regards

your CARL GROSS team

If you want to stay up to date,
subscribe to our newsletter.

Magazin
The temperatures are cooling down - autumn is moving in. So it's time to reorganise your wardrobe and bring the warm clothes to the front. Often you notice that one or the other autumn companion is still missing or needs to be replaced. We would like to take this opportunity to present our trends and collection for autumn / winter 2022.
Magazin
Probably one of the most popular materials for summer: linen. Whether it's trousers, a shirt or a jacket, you'll find such a garment in almost every summer wardrobe, and quite rightly so. But what makes linen so indispensable for summer and why should it not be missing from your wardrobe? We will answer these questions in today's blog post.
Magazin
As already made clear in our last blog article, fashion and sustainability do not always go hand in hand. Especially not when it comes to fast fashion. Recently, the general rethinking in our society has brought the topic of the environment and sustainability into a new focus. People are more concerned and care more - but how can we shop more sustainably? Today's blog post deals with this question.

Magazin

How to style: Das richtige Outfit für die Feiertage!

Wer kennt es nicht? Kaum stehen die Feiertage vor der Tür, schon erhält man die erste Essenseinladung der Familie und das Gedankenkarussell beginnt sich zu drehen: Was zieht man an?
Damit Sie sich Ihren Kopf nicht über die richtige Outfitwahl zerbrechen müssen, möchten wir Ihnen heute festliche Looks vorstellen.

Funfact: Woher kommt der Name Smoking?

Die Geschichte des Smokings geht bis in das 19 Jahrhundert zurück. Smoking, zu Deutsch „Rauchen“ verrät schon einiges über den ursprünglichen Zweck des eleganten Kleidungsstückes. So wurde der Smoking für den Besuch des Rauchersalons übergezogen. Nach dem Besuch wurde der Smoking wieder ausgezogen, um die Frauen, welchen der Besuch des Salons untersagt war, nicht mit dem Rauchgeruch zu belästigen. Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts führte Prinz Edward von Wales den Smoking in die gehobene Gesellschaft ein, sodass dieser bis heute das eleganteste Kleidungsstück der Herrengarderobe darstellt.

Einreiher, Doppelreiher oder der Smoking – ein kleiner Guide

Neben den klassischen, festlichen Alternativen – dem einreihigen und dem doppelreihigen Sakko – sollte auch der Smoking in Ihrer Outfitwahl Beachtung finden.

light blue jacket with beige window checks

Das einreihige Sakko:
Wie schon zu vermuten, zeichnet sich diese Art von Sakko durch lediglich eine Knopfreihe aus. Häufig findet man hier zwei Knöpfe. Achtung, der unterste Knopf sollte immer geöffnet bleiben, erst kurz vor dem Platz nehmen, bietet es sich an, beide Knöpfe zu öffnen. Auf ein solches Zweiknopf-Sakko sollte die Wahl fallen, wenn man auf Nummer sicher gehen möchte. So wirkt es weder zu formell noch zu modern.

Double breasted brown jacket with beige stripes

Das zweireihige Sakko:
Auf diesem Modell findet man zwei Knopfreihen. Hier ist das Sakko immer geschlossen, auch beim Sitzen. Lediglich der unterste Knopf kann optional offen bleiben. Diese Art des Sakkos schafft es jeden, seriös und elegant wirken zu lassen und ist die richtige Wahl, wenn man ein modisches Statement setzen möchte. Das quer über den Oberkörper verlaufende Revers betont dabei die Silhouette vorteilhaft.

Black tuxedo jacket

Das Smoking-Jackett:
Das Smoking-Jackett besteht häufig aus Samt oder Wolle. Es zeichnet sich außerdem durch zwei Seitenschlitze aus.
Das Revers unterscheidet sich deutlich, der sogenannte „Spiegel“ ist beim Smoking-Sakko traditionell aus Satin. Satin findet man auch bei den Knöpfen des Jacketts wieder.
Ist das Smoking-Jackett einreihig, wird ebenfalls nur der oberste von den zwei Knöpfen geschlossen. Immer passend kombiniert mit der dazugehörigen Smoking-Hose.

Festlich, festlicher, am festlichsten – die Kombination macht den Unterschied

Mittlerweile ist es keine Seltenheit mehr, das Sakko mit einer Jeans- oder einer Chino-Hose zu kombinieren. Ganz im Gegensatz zum Smoking, welcher nach wie vor klassisch kombiniert wird. Bei der Outfitwahl ist es entscheidend, welchen Eindruck man hinterlassen und welchem Anlass man gerecht werden möchte.

young man with red hair in light-coloured turtleneck jumper, light-coloured trousers and light-blue, beige checked jacket

Der moderne Look:
Modern in hellen Naturtönen. Unser hellblaues Sakko CG Timbo SV mit hellbeigem Fensterkaro setzt ein unaufdringliches Highlight. Das Sakko lässt sich perfekt mit einem hellen Rollkragenpullover und einer passenden Anzughose kombinieren. Durch ausgewählte Accessoires wie einem Einstecktuch verleihen sie dem Look Ihre individuelle Handschrift. Die weihnachtliche Familienfeier kann kommen!

Young man with brown hair in beige jacket, wine-red turtleneck jumper and dark trousers

Der lässige Look:
Lässig mit viel Kontrast. Präferieren Sie den Casual-Look, sollten Sie zu unserem beigen Sakko CG Fabian J-SV greifen. In Kombination mit einer dunklen Hose entsteht ein angenehmer Kontrast.
Möchten Sie außerdem einen farbigen Akzent setzen, dann können sie den Look mit einem weinroten Rollkragenpullover auflockern. Das perfekte Outfit, wenn es weder zu festlich noch zu leger sein sollte.

man with brown hair in black tuxedo, white tuxedo shirt, with black bow tie and white pocketkerchief

Der festlichste Look:
Der festlichste Look von allen – der Smoking. Klassisch kombiniert mit der passenden Smoking-Hose, einem weißen Smoking-Hemd, einem hellen Einstecktuch und einer schwarzen Fliege. Abgerundet wird das Outfit mit schwarzen Lackschuhen. Statt zu einem Gürtel sollten Sie hier zu Hosenträgern greifen.
Der Smoking-Look eignet sich perfekt für eine stilvolle Silvesternacht.

So einfach zum festlichen Outfit

Haben Sie sich schon Gedanken darüber gemacht, was Sie an den Feiertagen tragen werden? Es freut uns, wenn wir Ihnen diese Entscheidung heute abnehmen konnten. Werfen Sie gerne einen Blick in unseren Onlineshop, viel Spaß!

Viele Grüße

Ihr CARL GROSS Team

Wenn Sie up-to-date bleiben wollen,
abonnieren Sie gerne unseren Newsletter:

Magazin
Die Temperaturen kühlen ab – der Herbst zieht ein. Es ist also an der Zeit, den Kleiderschrank neu zu sortieren und die warmen Kleidungsstücke nach vorne zu holen. Oftmals fällt dabei auf, dass noch der ein oder andere Herbstbegleiter fehlt oder ersetzt werden muss. Wir möchten die Gelegenheit nutzen und Ihnen unsere Trends und Kollektion für den Herbst / Winter 2022 vorstellen.
Magazin
Wohl eines der beliebtesten Materialien für den Sommer: Leinen. Ob als Hose, Hemd oder Sakko, in beinahe jeder Sommergarderobe findet man ein solches Kleidungsstück und das vollkommen zurecht. Aber was macht Leinen für den Sommer so unverzichtbar und weswegen darf es auch in Ihrem Kleiderschrank nicht fehlen? Diese Fragen beantworten wir Ihnen in unserem heutigen Blogbeitrag.
Magazin
Wie bereits in unserem letzten Blogartikel verdeutlicht, geht Mode und Nachhaltigkeit nicht immer Hand in Hand. Insbesondere dann nicht, wenn es um Fast Fashion geht. Zuletzt hat das generelle Umdenken in unserer Gesellschaft das Thema Umwelt und Nachhaltigkeit in einen neuen Fokus gerückt. Man ist bemühter, kümmert sich mehr – wie kann man nun aber nachhaltiger shoppen? Mit dieser Frage beschäftigt sich unser heutiger Blogpost.